Story Hours

IMG 3149 - Story Hours

Tell-Me-A-Story Theatre and Once Upon an Orchestra

SCCT Story Hours are a chance for young children to engage in a high-energy and child-friendly interpretation of their favorite children’s stories. It’s a great literacy connection and a sweet treat for your students, performed in SCCT’s Prisma Health Lobby. The material often includes audience participation or simple interaction and will last no longer than 30 minutes – perfect for young, wiggly patrons. Tell-Me-A-Story is performed by one of our SCCT Teaching Artists, and can be booked for private performances as well. Once Upon An Orchestra is a partnership with Greenville Symphony and features live music performed by a Greenville Symphony musician.

Please Note: Our parking lot fee will be waived for patrons of Story Hours.

Lobby doors will not open until 15 minutes before the performance time! Please remain in your cars, visit GATHER across the street, or play in the grass behind the theatre.

FREE! Reservations are not required.

Upcoming Performances

Pete the Cat: Rocking in my School Shoes

By Eric Litwin, Illustrated by James Dean

Sat, Sep 7 — Public Show at 10:30 am
Tue, Sep 10 — Public Shows at 10 am & 11 am

For the Saturday shows, there is also an option to talk to our performer/teaching artist after the performance about our classes, take a building tour and a sample mini class to see if it will be a good fit for your child.

School Shows – Thur, Sept 12 at 10 am & 11 am (contact Vanessa@scchildrenstheatre.org to reserve.)

Even Monsters Need Haircuts

By Matthew McElligot

Mon, Oct 14 — Public Shows at 10 am & 11 am
Sat, Oct 19 — Public Show at 10:30 am

For the Saturday shows, there is also an option to talk to our performer/teaching artist after the performance about our classes, take a building tour and a sample mini class to see if it will be a good fit for your child.

School Shows - Thur, Oct 17 at 10 am & 11 am (contact Vanessa@scchildrenstheatre.org to reserve)

Leonardo the Terrible Monster

By Mo Williams

Tue, Oct 29 — Public Show at 11 am

Little Blue Truck

By Alice Schertle, Illustrated by Jill McElmurry

Tue, Nov 12 — Public Shows at 10 am & 11 am
Sat, Nov 16 — Public Show at 10:30 am
For the Saturday shows, there is also an option to talk to our performer/teaching artist after the performance about our classes, take a building tour and a sample mini class to see if it will be a good fit for your child.

School Shows – Thur, Nov 14 at 10 am & 11 am (contact Vanessa@scchildrenstheatre.org to reserve.)

Molly's Tuxedo

By Vicki Johnson, Illustrated by Gillian Reid

Sat, Jan 11 — Public Show at 10:30 am
Tue, Jan 14 — Public Shows at 10 am & 11 am

For the Saturday shows, there is also an option to talk to our performer/teaching artist after the performance about our classes, take a building tour and a sample mini class to see if it will be a good fit for your child.

School Shows – Thur, Jan 16 at 10 am & 11 am (contact Vanessa@scchildrenstheatre.org to reserve.)

Love

By Matt De La Pena, Illustrated by Loren Long

Tue, Feb 11 — Public Shows at 10 am & 11 am
Sat, Feb 15 — Public Show at 10:30 am

For the Saturday shows, there is also an option to talk to our performer/teaching artist after the performance about our classes, take a building tour and a sample mini class to see if it will be a good fit for your child.

School Shows – Thur, Feb 13 at 10 am & 11 am (contact Vanessa@scchildrenstheatre.org to reserve.)

Caps For Sale

By Esphyr Slobodkina

Tue, Mar 11 — Public Shows at 10 am & 11 am
Sat, Mar 15 — Public Show at 10:30 am

For the Saturday shows, there is also an option to talk to our performer/teaching artist after the performance about our classes, take a building tour and a sample mini class to see if it will be a good fit for your child.

School Shows – Thur, Mar 13 at 10 am & 11 am (contact Vanessa@scchildrenstheatre.org to reserve.)

One

By Kathryn Otoshi

Tue, Mar 25 — Public Show at 11 am

Ali and the Sea Stars

By Ali Stroker, Illustrated by Gillian Reid

Sat, Apr 5 — Public Show at 10:30
Tue, Apr 8 — Publics Show at 10 am & 11 am

For the Saturday shows, there is also an option to talk to our performer/teaching artist after the performance about our classes, take a building tour and a sample mini class to see if it will be a good fit for your child.

School Shows – Thur, Apr 3 at 10 am & 11 am (contact Vanessa@scchildrenstheatre.org to reserve.)

Caps For Sale

By Esphyr Slobodkina

Tue, May 13 — Public Show 11 am